Scooter Buying advice - Help required

Discussion in 'General Scooter Discussion' started by keyser666, Apr 4, 2019.

1. keyser666

keyser666 New Member

Hi All,

A new member here requiring advice from other members who are far more well versed and experienced than myself. Apologies my first post is one requesting help before I have made a meaningful contribution here but I am new to scooters for one and have no knowledge whatsoever about scooters, let alone mopeds, motorbikes or cars. I am not sure what valuable participation I can make going forward what with my lack of knowledge and experience but will no doubt stay around as an active member going forward to learn if anything, probably asking more questions than giving answers.

So to my situation I require advice on, I'll try and keep it brief as possible but conscious I also need to explain the situation with pertinent info so the correct advice/opinions can be given.

Why am I buying my first scooter? - I live in a town/city in the outer Kent area but work in London. I live 3.5 miles from the mainline train station and for the last couple of years I use either public bus or taxi to get from home to the station or vice versa. The shift I am on dictates what mode of transport I use to and from the station. If early then a taxi because the first bus doesnt start & pass mine until after the time of the train I need to be on already. The train departs before the first bus even starts its route. On the flip side coming home I get a taxi if on a mid or late shift because I dont get back into the train station until after the bus timetable changes. From the first bus throughout the day until about 6pm they run every 10 minutes. After 6pm they are on a evening timetable service and run only once an hour. This can mean depending on what time I get in, I could be waiting upto an hour for the next bus, as it stands it is normally 40-50 minutes I would have to wait.