Sr50 2015 derestricted standard equipment advice required

Discussion in 'Newbie Scooter Tuning' started by GJ7RWT, Feb 10, 2017.

1. GJ7RWT

GJ7RWT Member

Hello,

I am posting this on behalf of my son who bought a 2015 SR50 in the belief it was still restricted. He is no mechanic but I have some experience with car tuning. I found a bag of parts under the seat with the carb restrictor plate, rollers and vari washer !!!!!!!
    So clearly the previous owner had the scooter derestricted but didn't tell his parents .

Now we live on an island with a max speed limit of 40mph with the majority of roads being a 30mph limit. He is having difficulty keeping up with his mates on acceleration. I am assuming the rollers that have been fitted are still too heavy to give the best acceleration. What weight should go down to bearing in mind we do not need a high top end speed?

Also is it ok to run the scooter on the original jetting. I haven't looked at the spark plug yet as I only just found all the restriction bits under his seat.

Any advice would be most welcome. Please be gentle, I am a total newbie to this scooter thing.

Cheers
    Andy

2. Stevep

Stevep Well-Known Member

The thing you need to do is find out what weight you already have in there first and work down from there.
    It sounds like the engine is not getting into the powerband enough before it takes off.
    This can be adjusted by either:
    Lighter rollers
    Stiffer clutch slipper springs
    Stiffer Torque Spring
    Shim washer between the variator fixed plate and centre boss

What you dont want is the engine revving it's nuts off just to keep it moving, so it's a fine balance between everything.

Does the bike have the standard exhaust or sports exhaust?

A sports exhaust will mean that the carb will need re-jetting to suit the pipe. Might be that it hasn't been done.

More info on the bike and what it has on please

3. GJ7RWT

GJ7RWT Member

Hi Stevep

Thanks for your reply.