Scooter Theft Epidemic - How do you keep your scooter safe?

Discussion in 'General Scooter Discussion' started by OnTwoWheels, May 17, 2017.

1. OnTwoWheels

OnTwoWheels New Member

Afternoon all,

My name's Ross - and I'm new to ScooterShack. It's great to make your acquaintance (albeit digitally)

I'm doing a bit of research about the scooter theft epidemic currently taking place across the UK ( I say currently, because it's only just been picked up by the mainstream press, despite it being a problem for years). I'm writing a short article for a new free learner and commuter oriented newspaper called On2Wheels (it focuses on smaller capacity AM to A2 restricted machines, including scooters and moped) and I'm hoping you might be able to help me.

Basically, I'm hoping you can tell me how you managed to keep your scooter safe and unscathed (short of tucking it away in a garage)?

Cheers!

Ross

2. Stevep

Stevep Well-Known Member

Hi Ross,
    It's soooo difficult to keep your scooter safe when you're out and about.
    The problem is they are so light that it only takes two people to pick it up and shove it in the van and it's gone, regardless of locks and chains.
    Plus there is the problem of being kicked off it at the traffic lights.
    If you are only a 16 year old skinny kid and there is 2 or 3 of them, you don't have much chance of winning do you.
    We've had a few on here in the past.
    There are tracker systems that can be bought relatively cheaply, from the likes of ebay etc, that allow you to monitor your bike from your phone, but if you're in the office all day and you only find your bike gone when you leave work, then more than likely you are not going to see it again.