Piaggio zip 250 build

Discussion in 'Maxiscooter Tuning' started by bobbymiller08, Oct 1, 2016.

1. bobbymiller08

bobbymiller08 New Member

So 5 years ago I bought a zip 125 ac 4 stroke and tbh it wasn't all that bad just needed a new head gasket and some new panels but I'm a bit of a petrolhead and I work as a mechanical engineer after looking into the standard engine I noticed it was rather similar to the engine in my gilera runner vx so I went and bought the piaggio workshop manual and loan behold same crank case just different cylinder and head so after finding out this I built a new engine and I never got round to finishing the bike off I just put it in the shed and forgot about it for 4 years then the other day I went down to check it and I got a new cdi unit to go on the bike because I still had the ac cdi so I fitted the lc cdi turned the engine over and it detonated bent 4 valves and snapped the timing chain hears where it gets interesting someone I no had a engine for sale so I went and got it and it's a 250 vespa engine with a carburettor [emoji7] [​IMG] so this is where I'm at now hopefully il have the bike finished tomorrow and be booking it in for a mot next weekend not you everyday piaggio zip can't wait to get this monster back on the road

Sent from my E6853 using Tapatalk

MiNoR cOnFuSiOn likes this.
  2. rossm

rossm Member

Nice

3. bobbymiller08

bobbymiller08 New Member

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Nearly finished just a couple of clips on the water pipes,throttle cable,headlight then put plastics back on!!!!!!!

4. bobbymiller08

bobbymiller08 New Member

[​IMG]
    The beast is alive!!!!!!!

5. scubabiker

scubabiker NITROJUNKIE

hahhaha nice!
    i once put an AC motor in a VX, they are the exact same motor, just a few little differences here and there.
    did the 250 bolt right in? looks just like the leader engine

6. bobbymiller08

bobbymiller08 New Member