Peugeot speedfight 2 project

Discussion in 'Scooter Projects' started by Sparky543, Jun 27, 2019.

1. Sparky543

Sparky543 New Member

Hi all,

Newbie here. Not new to bikes but I am to scooters or this new.

I've just bought this scooter on a 2006 plate as a project to do up for my daughter's 16th in December.

I'm having issues with getting her started. The battery was dead so far that it showed no volts. The battery is now showing and holding 12.7v.

Problem is, I can't start her. I turn on the ignition and there is no ignition lights and no turning over. Indicators flash, horn works no rear light so can't tell if that works yet.

I've read that it has an immobiliser but I have no flashing immobiliser light on the dash. I also only have 1 black key.

I have also read that I can bypass the CDI but I can only find a Peugeot item next to the battery and not the magneti unit people are on about.

If anyone can help me get her running, I would be grateful.

Mark

2. scubabiker

scubabiker NITROJUNKIE

Hmmm.
    Where is merlin got to.
    He is the Peugeot guru

Stevep likes this.
  3. Sparky543

Sparky543 New Member

Ok, so I've determined that the model is one without immobiliser. The starter relay just clicks with a rear light and without.

I'm starting to think it's the starter motor at fault. Going to try and pull it off tomorrow.

The dash lights not coming on, I think is due to corrosion as I tried to pull a bulb out and all the connectors are rusted away.

Oh and to check that it's not the battery, I put the one from my zx6r onto it to make sure it wasn't the battery.

4. scubabiker

scubabiker NITROJUNKIE

What about on the kick start?

5. Sparky543

Sparky543 New Member

Kick start just seems to slip and not turn the engine. Once I got the electric starter to work, the kick starter was next.

6. Stevep

Stevep Well-Known Member

Put power direct to the starter motor using a spare battery, or the one off your ZX