Hello from The Netherlands

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself...' started by 1nsane, Dec 5, 2017.

1. 1nsane

1nsane New Member

Hi!

My name is Jochem, I'm from The Netherlands and can be considered a bit of a moped/scooter grandpa being 32 yrs old.

I started riding mopeds since I was 16 yrs old and got my license certificate, had around 4 different scooters at some point, 2 Gilera Stalkers, a Peugeot Speedfight that did around 16 bhp and some other bits and bobs.

When I turned 19 yrs old, I got my drivers license for my car so I sold everything but for commuting purposes, a scooter became handy again so recently bought myself a Speedfight again.

This one is a bit of a Speedfight 1.5 . On registration it is a SF2 but the engine block and part of the covers are from a SF1.

It's an LC model and I bought it for a couple hundred Euro's and it has an overhauled engine block.

Most of the parts seemed to be new or good as new.

Unfortunately in The Netherlands, the law is quite strict on these things and for the yellow plate ones you're only allowed to have them go up to 45 km/h which I easily doubled in my sinful days ;-) but now that I really need it on a daily basis, there's no point in collecting fines and having to get the thing reassessed at the governmental road inspection and regulation company every time. Of course, it goes a bit faster than is allowed as there are margins to play with ;-)

Since I got it a couple of months back, I did some work on it though, after a while, the pulling power especially when it was warm was bad (even though it easily hit top speed if you waited long enough so the drive train was probably a bit threadbare) :

- New headlight unit (previous one had been molested by the previous owner who completely changed it so it took 2 LED bulbs that didn't even emit that much light and it looked shit)
    - New rear chock absorber as the original unit deteriorated quite rapidly in the bad weather