Gilera stalker 70cc kit bogging (need help tuning my carb)

Discussion in 'Scooter Tuning' started by Denda, Oct 2, 2021.

1. Denda

Denda New Member

Hey guys i'm very new to scooter tuning, i have this gilerka stalker, swaped a 70cc kit on it because the stock engine siezed. And i can't get it to run properly.

A couple of months back i bought this pwk chinese carb, and some main jets i think 80-125, and slow jets 25-50.

I tried a couple of combinations:
    1. 40 slowjet, 80 main, a/f screw 1 1/2 turns out
    2. 40 slowjet, 95 main, a/f screw 2 1/4 turns out
    And some other combos i forgot, and it never really ran great, right now im running 40 slowjet, 88 main, a/f screw 1/2 turns out and the needle clip one position leaner, seems to run pretty good on the low end (when the bike is on the stand it revs out really good and seems to sound the best it ever did, even if i twist the throttle all the way), but as soon as i open the throttle all the way it bogs and sometimes it runs better with the choke engaged, im thinking its too lean of a main jet, but im not sure, as i said, im pretty new to all this carb tuning, watched a couple of tuning guides and read some forums for tuning but i stilk cant get it to run right.

Forgot to mention, the whole scooter is stock, except replaced the cylinder and piston, and im running a mix of 3×4 and 3×8 gram rollers

Note: im also running a stock exhaust maybe this could be my problem? (i know its recomended to switch the exhaust when installing a 70 kit, i just dont have the money to buy an exhaust rn)

Note 2: just swaped a new plug in yesterday, i rode it around my city a couple of minutes (like 10 or so), and yesterday for about the same amount of time, the sparkplug seems to be the same color i unboxed, no discoloration

Last edited: Oct 2, 2021
  2. The Messenger

The Messenger Active Member

The chinese pwk style carbs can be a bit hit or miss for quality, and is more than likely ott on a std (ish) engine anyway.