Project Neos 50 tidy up!

Discussion in 'Scooter Projects' started by lipsmoker, Jul 9, 2010.

1. lipsmoker

lipsmoker Member

So This is my first project

Bike: Yamaha neos 2001
    Color: Red + silver
    cc: 50

I got it as my first Ped (being 16)
    I had it on the road for 2 weeks when i binned it Round a corner at 35 :blush: there was heavy scratches on the right hand side, i could cope with them, a week after i was doing 45 up rivinton and the spark plug exploded out the head, turns out its had a TERRIBLE helicoil job, its been stood for 2 weeks so ive decided to put my mind to it and get it back on the road.

Pics
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I Tidied the battery cables up and relocated the wires through the bottom of the case, Pics tomorrow here is the clean up list so far

Maintainence
    New battery (for electric start)
    New Stand (hanging low)
    New head
    New head gasket
    New Plug

Visual
    VHT Black Paint for rusty exhaust pipe
    Primer + paint for forks

Now for a color scheme im really not sure as its hard to make a neos look good any ideas?, yes respraying the whole thing.

This will be a slow Project as funds aren't great as i just got accepted into mechanics course in Preston and awaiting start in September.

Thanks for reading =D
    -Josh :cool:

2. lipsmoker

lipsmoker Member

Tips Would be great, going to share my battery wire relocation trick tomorrow as i think its pretty nifty and tidies it up alot!

tips on renthal bars? i really want some but were do my switches go and how hard to install/price

cheers

3. lipsmoker

lipsmoker Member

Cable tidy trick
    Time - 5 minutes
    Tools - Battery powered drill + spade bit

Drill a hole using a spade bit and a drill at the top of the battery compartment
    like this

[​IMG]

Feed your cables through and connect to battery
    it should look something like this

[​IMG]

alot tidier than the manufacturer finish and keeps everything in place imo