Yamaha aerox 50 javing no joy starting

Discussion in 'General Scooter Discussion' started by Kevin Williams, Jan 31, 2017.

1. Kevin Williams

Kevin Williams New Member

Hi. I am brand new to the scooter scene. Bought a 2006 yamaha aerox for my son. Bit of a project to get it going for his 16th. I am having issues starting it. This is the run down. Stripped the ped down to check it over. I bought as a none runner. Stupid i know. It has a malossi 70 head and a race exhaust. 21mm dell carb. Stage 6 air filter. I have checked and cleaned everything. Replace all gaskets and stuff when putting back together. New plug. Fresh fuel. Spark is great.
    Cause i wont start i check the vacumn petrol tap seemed block so i made a temp gravity feed tank. Got fuel getting to the carb good spark and great compression. Bloody thing will not start. If i spray abit of easy start in the carb it fires and runs for a split second but then nothing. I am proper scratching my head. Any help or advice would be great so thanks in advance

2. Tamiyacowboy

Tamiyacowboy Pippa's Owner

Rides:
    Piaggio Skipper
    check your carb fittings namely the rubber hose to the manifold on the motor side, the rubber hose to the airbox , if any of thse has a slight crack or a leak its going to make you run lean .

check the filter , yep i know it sounds daft but a clogged filter can manifest as a non runner folks tend to just not clean them. drizzle fairy liquid over the foam pad and really work it in scrunch that sucker up and get that fairy cutting that filter oil back and that gunk out , then into warm water and again scrunch that puppy a good few times, you may find dirty water you may find a shed load of crud and dirt. rinse it a couple times in warm water to get that soap out, then dry that puppy off and install. try again if it fails to start ......