Warming up a 2 stroke Piaggio Typhoon 70

Discussion in 'Scooter Guides' started by Typh70., Mar 29, 2017.

1. Typh70.

Typh70. New Member

Im new to peds and i have recently bought a used 2012 piaggio typhoon, the bike is in great condtion and it has a leo vince zx pipe on it, a mallosi crank, mallosi 70cc kit, polini transmission, mallosi gear up kit and a mallosi tc controller and a couple other bits. It had a larger carb and a foam filter (no sock) on it, i had to change these back to stock airbox and carb due to how unreliable it was making the ped i couldnt ride in rainy weather at all. So after sorting all of that out the bike fouled 2 plugs in around a month, i took it to a garage to get it checked out he said he put a new plug in and he turned down the fuel so it will foul less. Currently the bike is riding fine but im unsure how to warm up this bike, its not an average ped as it has all the race parts on it, do i just hold the brake and rev? If so how much do i rev? Do i rev just enough to keep the bike running or half/full throttle. Ive also had people telling me to just start it and ride however the ped doesnt move until its warm, until its warm enough for the powerband to start engaging it moves very slow no matter how much i rev. Also how long do i warm the bike for? Any help would be appreciated,thanks.

2. Tamiyacowboy

Tamiyacowboy Pippa's Owner

Rides:
    Piaggio Skipper
    Welcome Typh70 to the scooter shack.

best way to warm your scooter.

grab your gear, ie stick your boots on and overtrousers, then grab your jacket - gloves - helmet ..... take a walk to the scooter and start it up, now while its just sitting and idling start to get your gear on, slap on your jacket, strap down your helmet, slip on your gloves ........
    now do your electrical tests , rear brake light ( front leaver and rear leaver ) make sure it works , both indicators , double check they work,