Speedfight carb jetting

Discussion in 'The Workshop' started by Paul Smith, Apr 13, 2021.

1. Paul Smith

Paul Smith Member

Hi

I have a 1997 LC speedfight with a malossi/polini 70cc kit with stage 6 exhaust and 17.5mm carb.

I am having trouble getting the carb jet right, it used to be awesome and pretty much still is but at some point I clearly thought I was a better mechanic than baines racing at Silverstone and changed something on the carb but hey ho.

It runs a standard air box opened out slightly to fit the carb and always has done so that's ok.

What's she doing.

So when warm she runs for a mile ish then you start to lose power until she finally bogged down so I held the manual choke open and she ran fine on half throttle to get me to where I needed to go. Thinking like she was starved of fuel I checked the jet and it had a 75 in there (not sure what was originally there years ago). Read some bits on line and decided a larger jet was needed so up it went to an 88 which warmed and idled fine but a mile down the road at lights she wouldn't rev up and bogged down. I pulled the manual choke which helped me get away from the lights but I let it go and the bike died and wouldn't re start.
    My thinking is flooded? What are your views.
    I'm kind of thinking the standard box isn't letting enough air in at full throttle thus hesitating and dropping power, so thinking I maybe needed to go down in jets?

Any ideas welcome :)

Thank you

2. Stevep

Stevep Well-Known Member

Strip and clean the carb.
    Put the 75 back in.
    Clean or replace the air filter and fuel filter

3. Paul Smith

Paul Smith Member

What is the theory behind re trying the 75 jet? Just so I understand. Air and fuel filter change I get :)

4. Stevep

Stevep Well-Known Member

You say in your original post it ran awesome before you started messing with the jets.