speedfight 2 help tuning for a noob

Discussion in 'General Scooter Discussion' started by josh hunt, Jan 30, 2017.

1. josh hunt

josh hunt New Member

HI all. hoping someone can help me im completely new to all this and need some info.
    ive had my 2008 speedfight 2 for a couple of weeks now and im loving it but it seems like it is having trouble accelerating at higher end, almost like its struggling for air or fuel. the ped had a gianelli exhaust on and previous has told me it has not been upjetted.
    ive now been looking at a malossi 70cc kit
    a pack of jets (need help with which ones)
    a 17.5mm carb (again need help with which one)
    what else would people reccomend for a reliable but reasonable speed ped!

any help massively appreciated

2. Tamiyacowboy

Tamiyacowboy Pippa's Owner

Rides:
    Piaggio Skipper
    Hello josh and welcome to the scooter shack.
    the ol speedy 2's , not bad a scoot either .

i would say if its not been upjetted thats your problem. the pipe is now allowing the gasses to escape more quicker and allow a little extra fuel charge in, but if your not upjetting to do this it can show as a boggy top end or even worse as an overheat problem .

is your speedy a liquid cooled model or the air cooled version ( the lc model had a handy dandy temp gauge to help show an overheat ).
    most young folks have this thought that the 50cc engine will get them to like 60mph, truth is around 40-50 is the very most your going to see without doing some very hardcore tuning work ( and risk to hurting the engine more ).

fitting a 70cc kit and upjetting a 17.5mm carb is not an easy thing , no plug and play here your going to be rejetting a couple times to find the sweet spot, usually its a 10% - 15% more on the jet size. ( lets just say its a 68 jet in carb now and it runs rough, your going to be upjetting to around 78 on the jet size and adjusting the throttle slide needle for the 1/4 throttle to 3/4 throttle range ).