Piaggio Zip - Newbie Tune

Discussion in 'Newbie Scooter Tuning' started by derp, Mar 28, 2015.

1. derp

derp Member

Rides:
    Piaggio Zip 50 2t
    Hi, Im a Newbie in tuning scooters.

I have a Stock 2013 Piaggio Zip 50 2t ( Stock exhaust - Carb - Air filter )

Previous owner got a dealer to De-restrict the scooter.

I have ordered
    - Yasuni Z Exhaust Sytem ( Restricted )
    - Dellorto Jets

Im keeping the 17.5mm Stock carb on the scooter with Brass plate. Im wondering if anyone can help me with what Jet to start off with? Currently its a 53 main jet and i bought a 50 - 70 Jet box so i should be able to get the bike running with the new exhaust.

Anyone got any tips what Main jet is a good starter?

2. Stevep

Stevep Well-Known Member

probably wont need to do anything until you de-restrict the pipe, then you can start playing with jets

3. derp

derp Member

Rides:
    Piaggio Zip 50 2t
    Thanks for the reply.

After i put the pipe on yesterday it had less power than the Stock exhaust. So today we are removing both Restrictions.

What would you recommend changing the Main jet too? And should i remove the brass plate on the carb?

Thanks

4. Nathanael

Nathanael Active Member

leave the plate on the carb. Start with a 64 main jet. My own zips were great on a 62 with just a pipe fitted but 64 is a nice safe starting point to work from.

5. derp

derp Member

Rides:
    Piaggio Zip 50 2t
    Thanks, Currently running it at 60 as that was my first guess before your post. It runs great but im wondering if i will gain anymore power from 62. Guess i have to try and find out

6. bulliporker

bulliporker Member

how did you get on

7. derp

derp Member

Rides:
    Piaggio Zip 50 2t
    Sorry for the late reply.

I installed a 62 jet and it runs great. The 60 jet had slight boggin on cold days so 62 seems to work great all weather.

8. Riceye46

Riceye46 New Member