Piaggio Fly 50 Upgrade 125

Discussion in 'Scooter Projects' started by vince86, Dec 6, 2016.

1. vince86

vince86 New Member

Hi- Newbie here!

I have a Piaggio Fly (2009) that at manufacture was a 100cc but the owner whom I bought it from advised me it had been reduced to a 50cc, which it was sold as.

I saw an engine for sale from a 125cc Piaggio Fly (2005) for really cheap (£27) so I bought it for an upgrade. I bolted it on fine as it appears to be the same fixing, had to buy a replacement shock absorber as the mount on the 125 engine is different and I modified the bit that connects the carburetor to the engine so it would fit without getting a new carburetor.

I have two problems. The first is that I have assumed that because the Piaggio Fly 50 and 100 CDIs are the same, this same CDI will run a 125 engine, but I don't know if this is correct? Secondly, there's a switch that I believe to be the stator connector but it's slightly different on the 125 engine and isn't fitting- will this be compatible & if not how can I make it work?

Thanks in advance!

Mark Emerson Trentham likes this.
  2. Tamiyacowboy

Tamiyacowboy Pippa's Owner

Rides:
    Piaggio Skipper
    CDI wise i think you find it needs a 125cc cdi . you could try the 50-100cc cdi , but you may find it will not work right. also is the new engine an imobilized version or non imobilized if so you will need to bypass the imobilizer with a bypass unit.

stator usually hooks into the main wire loom from there it feeds the re-rec and likes to power the electrical systems and feed the coil with a charge voltage and current. stators come in differing flavours ie half wave / full wave , three wire - five wire etc etc. ( usually when you replace the motor you will also get the loom that was with that new motor to and fit it to bike unless it is a straight 125cc to 125cc swap.