NEW TO THE WORLD OF SCOOTERS

Discussion in 'General Scooter Discussion' started by Octavian, Apr 23, 2019.

1. Octavian

Octavian New Member

Hello guys, my name is Octavian and I currently use an ebike every day to work. I spend far too much time and I need to buy a moped. I am looking to buy a kymko agility 50 (I will upgrade it later and buy a quality scooter but right now I have to spend loads on security as I will use the security systems from the kymko on the more expensive model that I will buy later on).
    Is Kymko a good model? From what I understand it is not really the ultra lower end of them all, they are after all, made in Taiwan not CHINA. :)
    I also want to know if I have to do some sort of extra training to drive a 125 CC scooter. From what I understand so far, I only need CBT for the 125 CC. Thank you guys and I hope that you will understand that I am only a nOOb here in the world of scooters.

2. milo2025

milo2025 Trip to Trumpton

Greetings Octavian. Kymko are a well know brand, cheap and reliable as far as I know so can't really go wrong if your budget can't stretch to Yamaha, Piaggio, Honda, Aprilia etc etc. If you want something more sporty with more oomph go for a 2 stroke, but there are not masses of new ones around anymore. As for your second question I think you have to do something called an A1? I might be wrong though because back in 2002 when I got my full motorcycle license things were a bit different. Good time to get a scooter though - just in time for the summer! :cool:

Last edited: Apr 23, 2019
  3. Stevep

Stevep Well-Known Member

Security on a Kymco scooter????o_O
    Do your CBT, go straight for a 125cc if you will use it for commuting.
    Naraku are the OE suppliers for Kymco scooters so quality is a bit better engine wise.
    You then have 2 years to either do your full license, whether restricted to A1/A2 or not depending on your age, or re-take another CBT.