Mystery starting problem

Discussion in 'The Workshop' started by Shunty, May 9, 2020.

1. Shunty

Shunty Member

Rides:
    Baotian BT49QT-9
    I have a 125cc GY6 engine which was purchased from Ebay for a transplant
    the problem I have is that when using the correct carb it starts but will only idle.
    As soon as you touch the throttle it dies.
    The carb has been off and cleaned twice and settings checked, but still no joy,
    I have a 50cc GY6 carb and decided to try that knowing it might not even start as not enough air/fuel mixture entering the 125cc engine, but it starts first time and you can rev it to full throttle no problem.
    I can't ride it yet as still rebuilding the scooter, so no road test yet to see how it performs.
    I am a self taught mechanic and have worked on vehicles from scooters/mopeds up to trucks of 44 tonnes
    This problem has baffled me so hope you guys can maybe give some advice as to what you think might be the problem.
    Once I can test ride it I will report back here to let you all know my findings using the 50cc carb

2. scubabiker

scubabiker NITROJUNKIE

Jetting.
    Are you using an airbox? Because you should.
    Those "K&N" style filters are trash....

3. Shunty

Shunty Member

Rides:
    Baotian BT49QT-9
    yes using the original airbox with both carbs.
    the jets are the ones which was in it when purchased
    The pilot jet for the 50cc is a 34
    and the 125cc is 35
    I do have a 38 I could even try

4. scubabiker

scubabiker NITROJUNKIE

Worth taking the carb apart and checking it over inside....

5. Shunty

Shunty Member

Rides:
    Baotian BT49QT-9
    I have done this twice before but all looked OK
    I did however take it apart after turning it upside down and found that the float could not be heard moving inside.
    I started by straightening the float out and then bending it about how I thought it should be and could hear it moving when turned upside down.