Malaguti Phantom F12 70cc tuning

Discussion in 'General Tuning' started by banner001, Oct 21, 2013.

1. banner001

banner001 Member

Hi guys, new to scooters, although i have 2 zxr 400's and a yamaha fzr 1000 exup-r so i know my bikes :D

Ive just bought a malaguti phantom with a 70cc kit to use as a project for next year, but the bike bogs with anything more than half throttle.

Ive not pulled the carb yet, but as far as the seller knows (and it looks like it), its the standard carb.

My question is this, has anyone matched a carb diameter (i see 17.5/19/21mm for sale) and main jet for the 70cc kit for this (or a similar) bike...to give me a decent starting point?

Bike is running a non-standard can and non-standard air filter.

Im completely new to 2 strokes...at least they are cheaper than big bikes for parts :D

Cheers guys!

2. Stevep

Stevep Well-Known Member

I think as standard they run a 17.5 mm dellorto, but i could be wrong.
    With a 70 kit on it, aftermarket pipe, and filter, the carb main jet needs to go up at least 5 points from standard, quite possibly a lot more. I would hazzard a guess at more likely 12 to 15 points up.
    Best bet is to have a look at the main jet size, then go to donotlink p-stop, buy a jet pack and have a play with re-jetting. Take care though not to make it too lean, keep an eye on the colour of the spark plug, too lean equals a popped piston in time.
    If you wanted to change the carb completely, go for a 21mm and appropriate filter. One that will keep the rain out because sports/open filters can cause problems in heavy weather.

3. banner001

banner001 Member

cheers, ill pull the engine this weekend and measure the venturi diameter, i think the standard jet is around a 78, ill buy a series of jets and go from there. ill post anything i find up here.

4. Stevep

Stevep Well-Known Member

Easier to measure the carb slide.
    You can always create a new thread in the scooter projects section, we all love a good build.