How do I re restrict a 50cc MBK Ovetto/Yamaha Neos???

Discussion in 'Newbie Scooter Tuning' started by BADGER, Mar 23, 2013.

1. BADGER

BADGER Member

A very strange question I know ! I'm new to scooters having spent 27 years with bikes but have brought a Scooter/Ped for my lad which I have ridden around and think is great, at the moment it will do 50mph (as a clock speed) I wish to re restrict the top speed to moped speeds as my lad will take it too far ( killing it or himself) and I myself cannot afford to run into insurance issues being a HGV driver I would lose everything. All I know about the scoot is the fact it has had the rollers changed has a standard type exhaust. I'm guessing the speed restriction is normally done by the cdi not letting the bike rev beyond a certain RPM as I've seen unrestricted CDI's mentioned on ebay.
    I've had a look on the net but cannot find any details on how this bike is de-restricted in order to do the reverse.

Any help much appreciated.

2. Scooter-Noob

Scooter-Noob God among idiots

Rides:
    AEROX in box's :-D
  3. Scooter-Noob

Rides:
    all so that parts list is for 2001 to 2006 if you need a different year let me know

4. Mark Emerson Trentham

Mark Emerson Trentham Well Known Member. Staff Member

Rides:
    NSC110/ ET2.
    Check cylinder capacity (big bore),carburettor size and or jets,exhaust (may have original restrictors removed even if std.)
    some mod.by gear up kits in engine as well.
    Good starting point would be manual to compare original specs.
    Hope it helps start you off.

5. BADGER

BADGER Member

Thanks everyone, So I'm guessing from what you have said most scooters are restricted speedwise mechanically ( never had any dealings with CVT gearbox's before)

6. Scooter-Noob

Rides:
  7. BADGER

BADGER Member

Thanks, I hadn't realized when looking for a vid that all scoots where the same

8. BADGER

BADGER Member

PS, That should work as It's a 2002 Scoot

9. Stig

Stig Well-Known Member

Rides: