Honda Dylan 04 - Power Issues

Discussion in 'Maxiscooter Tuning' started by MoonDog, May 4, 2012.

1. MoonDog

MoonDog Member

Rides:
    Honda Dylan 04
    Ok a little back reading. I bought my bike last year and it isnt the fastest bike out there. This i accept. But a late (in the last 6 months) ive noticed a more sever degradation of power and acceleration. The bike has done 30,000 miles, and ive been doing basic maintenance on it myself (mainly because the local bike shop wont touch it, as its a faff to get all the fairing off). I am not the lightest guy around, and that no doubt is some of the problem, but hills i could go up last year at 25-30mph, i now go up at 18-20mph, and my weight hasnt changed. I might also add im a noob at this, and most things ive done ive learned to do the hard way, or by watching generic videos on youtube.

So far ive overhauled the front brakes, changed the oils (engine and gear), changed the air filter, checked tyre pressures, swapped the roller weights (same spec but werent the same width???), and put a new belt on. The variator and belt fixes caused a high pitched whine which wasnt there before, and i have no idea whats causing it, but suspect the roller weights not being wide enough may have something to do with it.

Since i dont know its past history, im beginning to wonder if the problem is engine related as opposed to transmission, although i do wonder if i should maybe look at the clutch, not that i have any idea how to identify whether its worn.

My friend has mentioned a new camshaft, but he says its a pretty in depth process to do that. Also someone has mentioned to me jetting and floats, but he says that is a bit of a dark art.

I have looked into roller weights, and am contemplating putting some lighter ones in to see if this will improve hill climbing and general acceleration.