HELP - Nightmare dna-125

Discussion in 'The Workshop' started by richylad125, Jan 28, 2017.

1. richylad125

richylad125 New Member

First off, im compleatly new to this forum, so nice to meet you all!

However what isnt nice is my troublesome gilera dna 125, which recently has sprung yet another puzzling problem, (im a compleate novice so not very technically skilled on bikes).
    i was bombing down an a road a few weeks ago going around 65mph when upon slowing below 30mph and attempting to twist back on the throttle nothing happend, and the engine cut out. I noticed that there was petrol pouring from the overflow on the bottom of the carburettor, since then it has been very slow on acceleration below 30 mph, and cuts out if you let off the throttle below 30.
    I have tried a few things, draining the petrol, removing and spraying the carburettor with cleaner, but nothing.
    It will run for a few seconds and then the same problem, a very rough idle which cuts out if you dont give it some throttle, and all of the above symptoms.
    i had also noticed that draining the petrol and renewing it that it appeared to be a faint red colour. This could have been due to redex, but it reappeared even after draining and renewing the petrol.

Im reluctantly close to selling this now, as it has been a constant problem with power based faults from fueling.

hope you can help me with this annoying issue, many thanks!

2. richylad125

richylad125 New Member

I should also note there was a coolant leak which i was told by a garage was a pump failure, but i fixed this problem with radweld

3. Tamiyacowboy

Tamiyacowboy Pippa's Owner

Rides:
    Piaggio Skipper
    sounds more like a jetblock or possible float lift sticking.

ok as your some what a bit outta depth here on scooter anologys, im going to give you how the carb works but from a toilet persepctive ( same principle)