Advice HONDA X8R-S

Discussion in 'Scooter Tuning' started by Mako, Aug 12, 2008.

1. Mako

Mako New Member

need advice from anyone who know's how to de-restrict a honda x8r-s
    before i go and buy these parts would you say this quote below is the correct way to go about doing it ???
    im a motor mechanic 15 years but never worked on peds before lol , but id say it wouldnt be that hard to pick up . i would be doing this job myself so what im asking is , do i need any special tools to remove the variator ect

could you confirm this is the right parts
    varitator http://scooter-center.com/catalog/produ ... cts_id=382
    cdi tuned box https://www.pmtuning.co.uk/Merchant2/me ... =11-PMDR58

thanks in advance.

2. alex8r

alex8r New Member

Yeh mate, you've got the right idea. I have a Honda X8R, and it looks like you have done your research, there should be a spacer/washer in the variator and take that out and then buy the polini variator. It may also be recommended to buy an oversized belt aswell as a front pulley, (both found on PM tuning) because they (to a certain extent) restrict it aswell.

If there is a cone in the exhaust, then I would recomend removing that aswell.

3. MiNoR cOnFuSiOn

MiNoR cOnFuSiOn Administrator Staff Member

Rides:
    et2 monster
    whoever wrote that derestriction guide bum's off pm and is a lire.. the satock cdi can be derestricted and i offer this for a tenner plus postage. as for it only adding 5mph, im guessing the guy who wrote that is just plain full of shit as it makes one hell of a diff with the 7500 limiter removed. transmission needs resetting roller wise. id say derestrict the cdi and change the variator an mabey change the pipe. will be seing healthy speed increase. not sure how well the stock pipe works on these tbh

4. Mako

Mako New Member

any mechanic ive asked has said cutting the wire wont to the job CORRECT the cdi needs to be changed.