A few questions regarding Honda X8R-X

Discussion in 'Scooter Guides' started by Colinah87, Mar 19, 2017.

1. Colinah87

Colinah87 New Member

So I've just bought a little Honda X8R-X
    It runs, has 12 months MOT on it. Previous owner fitted a Polini variator kit to it to increase top speed. I rode it 100 miles back from Gloucestershire to London and it was absolutely fine.
    Yesterday I rode 1.5 miles into town and then went to ride back and it wouldn't start. Seems to have been a problem with the battery as I charged it and it ran no problems later on. However the positive and negative cables have been soldered onto the terminals meaning I can't remove the battery and had to charge it in situ, will this cause any issues for me? I'm a total newbie with stuff like this.

I can't seem to find much in the way of an owners manual online either, anyone got a spare lying round or links to download some .PDF versions?

There is a petrol cap and a 2T oil cap, does this mean I need to add 2T every time I add petrol or only when the oil light comes on? I've only ever used 2 stroke engines on petrol saws etc. I've never even ridden a 2 stroke moped before let alone an automatic one besides when I did CBT. I previously owned a 125 4 stroke.

Many Thanks
    Colin

2. Stevep

Stevep Well-Known Member

TOP UP THE OIL EVERY TIME YOU FILL UP, AND CHECK IT BEFORE YOU RIDE EVERY TIME!!!!
    Major reasons for engine failure are not enough oil to the piston on 2 strokes.
    Unusual to have battery terminals soldered on, un-solder them if you can and put new terminals on with a new nut and bolt.
    Do you have a kick start on it? It should start off the kick even if the battery is flat.
    Grab a multimeter, with the engine running test across the + and - terminals on the battery and note the reading.
    You should have about 13.8 volts to 14.6 volts showing.
    This shows that the system is giving a charge out to the battery.