2012 Piaggio Zip acts like there is a CPU restrictor. Confused I am!

Discussion in 'Scooter Tuning' started by Axzon, Oct 5, 2020.

1. Axzon

Axzon New Member

Hi. I am familiar with 2 stroke tuning. My son has been riding 2 stroke MX bikes for 12 years and I do all his mechanical work. I am also familiar with 2 and 4 stroke road bikes and scooters as I have been building bikes for many years and also reconditioned 50cc scooters for an extra income.

But now I have an issue that I struggle with and here is hoping someone has the knowledge I am looking for.

I have a 2012 50cc Piaggio Zip that I have been tidying up. Motor was not running when I got the bike. Now it is running well apart from that when riding the motor will act like there is a CPU/CDI restrictor that hits after approx 45 k/h.

I have:
    - Removed brass restrictor plate in carbi (scooter was struggling to go fast with the plate in)
    - Removed spacer in variator
    - Modified muffler by cutting away dead end part on muffler (and covered up the hole)
    - Removed the feedback to the engine from the muffler (and covered the hole in muffler and the one to engine) Someone mentioned this was to a catalytic converter? Not sure.
    - Fitted bigger main jet.
    - Cleaned carbi and jets.
    - Fitted new air filter.

After doing all this the engine became much more "peppy" and now has no hesitation when taking off. But acts like she runs out of fuel when I turn throttle past 2/3 of it's movement. (Speedo is not working, but I estimate the scooter is running at approx 40-45 k/h when this happens).

I also have an Aprilia 50cc 2 stroke scooter that has same CPU/CDI so i fitted that one thinking that there might be some restriction programmed in to the Piaggio CPU/CDI. But no change.

I have completed the work on this scooter (apart from fitting a new speedo cable) and it has turned out nice. But now I have this (above explained) last hurdle to overcome and need help.

Last edited: Oct 5, 2020
  2. Axzon