2 stroke oil

Discussion in 'General Scooter Discussion' started by superbees, Apr 28, 2020.

1. superbees

superbees Member

Hi i have just brought a 2014 speedfight 3 rs 50cc total newbie and wondering if the oil you put in the engine and the oil you mix with petrol are the same and which oils should i buy thanks

2. scubabiker

scubabiker NITROJUNKIE

Yes.
    Good quality 2 stroke oil, like Castrol, or motul. Ideally fully synthetic

3. superbees

superbees Member

4. scubabiker

scubabiker NITROJUNKIE

You can't change the engine oil on a 2 stroke.
    Unless it's a 4 stroke, but I don't think the 50 speedfight came as a 4 stroke

5. superbees

superbees Member

confused so you dont ever change engine oil?

6. MARSH

MARSH Whooooo!

Rides:
    Piaggio Typhoon
    If it's a 2 stroke then the 2t oil is the engine oil !

7. The Messenger

The Messenger Active Member

if your scooter is a 2 stroke:

The 2 stroke oil goes into a little tank and is fed into the engine by a pump, most people call it Autolube. This is your engine oil, there is no sump of oil like a 4 stroke that needs periodically changing.

The only other oil you will have is your gearbox/transfer case oil. A lot of these are supposed to be sealed for life, and dont need changing, although personally im not a fan of the term sealed for life.

8. superbees

superbees Member

Thanks for that now i have got as this is first ever bike.i dont have tank in mine someone has removed i have checked and the oil pump is faulty so looks like they removed because of this and has been mixing in fuel tank im not sure if it is worth re commisioning it because cost of parts or just add 2 stroke oil to fuel tank?

9. The Messenger

My scoot hasnt got a tank either, I pre mix.

its quite easy to pre mix if you can find a little jug or a small bottle with ML increments on the side.

Then you just have to decide what ratio of oil you want to use.

A std or mild sport set up can run safely on 50:1